Friday, May 22, 2015

The video of that SUTP webinar on how to improve on-street parking management

The video of that SUTP webinar on how to improve on-street parking management
In my webinar on 8 May I urged cities to "Take On-street Parking Management Seriously".

Here below is the video (click here to go straight to the youtube version).

See the summary below if you want to jump straight to a certain topic. I spoke for 40 minutes or so, then took questions.

Our cats tried to inject some light relief at two points but mostly this is just unsexy but important stuff that no city can ignore. 

Feedback welcome as always.   



Outline
Don’t trust casual observations (you need data!) (2:26)
Good On-street parking management dramatically improves the streets (6:24)
On-street parking management eases your off-street parking dilemmas too (9:18)
Decide where to allow parking and design carefully (17:15)
Improve (and digitize) enforcement (21:46)
Smarter pricing (26:57)
Better on-street parking management is possible! (41:28)
Questions/Discussion (42:50)
Thanks again to GIZ's Sustainable Urban Transport Project (SUTP) for this chance.


No comments

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

On-Street Parking Webinar this Friday 8 May (08:00 UTC)

On-Street Parking Webinar this Friday 8 May (08:00 UTC)
Reinventing Parking has been a little quiet lately because I have been busy on various projects. The biggest is a toolkit about on-street parking management for GIZ's Sustainable Urban Transport Project (SUTP). It is now under review and should be out within a few months.

You can get a preview of key ideas from the toolkit this Friday by joining my SUTP-organized WEBINAR: "Reinventing Parking – How to Improve On-Street Parking Management".


CLICK HERE for more information.  Or just send a short email to milena.keuerleber at giz.de to register.

The webinar will take place at on Friday, 8 May 2015 at 08:00 UTC, which is:

  • 5:00 – 6:00 in Brasilia, Buenos Aires (UTC-3)
  • 10:00 – 11:00 in Johannesburg, Berlin (UTC+2)
  • 11:00 – 12:00 in Kiev, Istanbul, Nairobi (UTC+3)
  • 13:30 – 14:30 in Delhi (UTC+5:30)
  • 15:00 – 16:00 in Bangkok, Jakarta (UTC+7)
  • 16:00 – 17:00 in Beijing, Manila, Singapore (UTC+8).

I plan to talk for about 30 or 40 minutes, followed by some open discussion. Do join us!

On-street parking management is one of those seemingly mundane but vital things that all cities need to do well but which most fail at. As I have said before, it is the "unglamorous secret" to all parking success.

Some cities that improved their on-street parking management


No comments